Keynote Speakers

Confirmed Featured Speakers

Mr Peter Edwards,  Director, Archipelago & President, Urban Design Alliance Queensland

Peter Edwards is an Architect, an accomplished and recognised Urbanist, and a leading figure in this region’s Urban Design community.

Peter is Director and co-founder of the Architecture and Urban Design practice – Archipelago. Archipelago provides architecture and urban design leadership in the shaping of Queensland’s cities.

Recent city shaping projects include the Gold Coast Health and Knowledge Precinct 2016 Masterplan and a new masterplan for Northshore Hamilton.

Peter combines work on major projects with key involvement in urban design professional bodies. He is regularly sort as a design leader, citymaking expert, public speaker, authors and facilitates design workshops, and continues to advocate publicly for better cities through design.

Peter is a TEDx Alumni, a member of the newly reformed Qld Urban Design and Places Panel and sits on a number of industry boards and panels.

Mr Stephen Yarwood, Urban Futurist, City 2050

Invited Featured Speakers

  • Mr Tai Lee Siang, Chair, World Green Building Council  & Group Managing Director of Ong and Ong Pte Ltd
  • Mr Philip Davies, CEO, Infrastructure Australia
  • Ms Raynuha Sinnathamby, Managing Director, Greater Springfield, Australia’s fastest emerging new city
  • Mr John Brogden, Chairman, UrbanGrowth NSW

The Conference Committee would like to thank the previous Keynote Speakers

  • Chris Johnson AM – CEO, Urban Taskforce Australia
  • Catherine Caruana-McManus – Director, Giant Ideas
  • Professor Graham Currie –  Professor of Public Transport, Public Transport Research Group, Institute of Transport Studies, Monash University
  • Professor Paul Burton – Founding Director, Cities Research Centre, Griffith University
  • Ivan Motley – Founder, Id. the population experts
  • Leanne Hodyl – Director, Hodyl & Co
  • Professor Edward Blakely– Chair, Future Cities Collaborative The United States Centre University of Sydney
  • Adam Beck – Executive Director Smart Cities Council Australia New Zealand
  • The Hon. Ms Jacklyn (Jackie) Trad MP- Deputy Premier, Minister for Transport, Minister for Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Trade
  • Adj. Prof Penelope Coombes – The People for Places and Spaces, NSW
  • Mr Jeffrey Craft – Principal, SWA Group, China
  • Dr Simon Eassom – Global Offering Manager, IBM Smarter Cities
  • Professor Paul James – Director, Institute for Culture and Society, University of Western Sydney
  • Mr Gavin Kain – Principal, Woods Bagot
  • Professor Ken Maher – President, ASBEC (Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council)
  • Professor Peter Newman – Professor of Sustainability, Curtin University
  • Professor Edward Ng – Professor of Architecture, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Comments are closed